A National Call to Lift the Sacred Pipes and Light the Sacred Fires - MAY 7 & 10, 2020

By Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers of the Turtle Lodge Central House of Knowledge. Respected Indigenous Elders across the Nations recently came together virtually. They are calling for collective prayer and ceremony regularly, and to bring the Pipes together for unity, healing and protection.

MAY 7, 2002 (FULL MOON) LIFT THE SACRED PIPES 10 AM PST - 11 AM MST - 11 AM CST (Regina) - 12 PM CDT (Winnipeg) - 1 PM EST - 2 PM ADT -2:30 PM NDT *Note the poster incorrectly states 12 AM Winnipeg time - should read 12 PM

MAY 10, 2020 (MOTHER'S DAY) LIGHT THE SACRED FIRE ALL DAY To honour Mother Earth and all the women of the world for being life-givers and helpers of the Creator

*

On May 7, the Full Moon, the national group of Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers of the Turtle Lodge Central House of Knowledge will be lifting their Pipes, singing traditional songs and lighting a sacred fire, as a collective effort across the country.

Again on May 10, the national group of Indigenous Elders makes a call to light the Sacred Fires all day on Mother’s Day, to honour Mother Earth and all the women of the world for being life-givers and helpers of the Creator.

We have, East to West to North: Jane Meader (Mi’kmaw Grandmother) Stephen Augustine (Hereditary Chief and Keptin on the Mi’kmaw Grand Council) Ed Sackaney (Cree) Dr. David Courchene, Jr. (Anishinaabe, Founder of Turtle Lodge) Dr. Harry Bone (Anishinaabe) Katherine Whitecloud (Dakota Grandmother) Florence Paynter (Anishinaabe Grandmother) A.J. and Patricia Felix (Cree) Morris and Betty Ann Little Wolf (Piikani) Barney Williams (Tla-o-qui-aht) Darrell Bob (St'at'imc), and Stephen Kakfwi (Dene).

The Elders call on individuals in all the communities and Nations, Pipe carriers and Firekeepers, to lift the Pipes, light the Sacred Fires and offer their prayers collectively for unity, healing and protection.

We are showing a sign of solidarity and unity as a group, deciding to begin by lifting the Pipe collectively. As Elders we offer our leadership by reflecting this defined act. Following in the footsteps of our ancestors, our actions always begin with the power of the Pipe. We will receive further instructions as we begin in this way.

We will synchronize the time we all join together to lift the Pipes, light the sacred fires, sing our traditional songs, smudge and pray together.





59 views

NEVER MISS A THING

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
DROP US A LINE

QUESTIONS & COMMENTS